Having not properly shot in a while, I was apprehensive about this field shoot. However, I knew, at the same time, it would be good fun. There was just six of us and we set out about ten targets and enjoyed the morning, shooting in the sunshine.

I lost two arrows on the first end, but found them later. After that I got back in the swing of it and shot much better. Although, I did lose one arrow completely in a bog. While I was looking for it, the others were shooting a target spinning from a rope. It was a block with one side – the scoring side – painted white. Unfortunately, they were filming and when I joined them and I managed to shoot just about the worst I ever have. Forever my wildly shot arrows ricocheting off tree trunks will be preserved for posterity. 

One particularly amusing home made target… 

The experience reignited my enjoyment of archery. Can’t wait for the next one, which should also include a barbecue! 

Leave a Reply

