Session 11 – taster session

Storm clouds were brewing tonight and I decided to attend the session without my bow or arrows. This wasn’t a completely arbitrary decision. I had signed up to help a few of the coaches with a taster session for beginners. Rather than having people go straight into a paid-for archery beginners’ course, they were invited to come and shoot a few ends at 10 yards to see if they liked it. We had the new club gazebo out, which looked smart and kept the drizzle off. As it happened, the rain subsided and the threatening clouds never unloaded their contents.

Not being a coach, I wasn’t in a position to do much else than chat to the newcomers as they waited for their turns. We had little idea how many would come, but in the end I counted 19, which was great. And they’d heard about it from a poster in a supermarket and from our website, not from the paid-for advert in the newspaper, so that’s a lesson learned. My role was mostly ball boy, collecting club arrows every so often and sorting them back into matching sets. But I enjoyed seeing the enthusiasm of the beginners and talking to them. It was good tonic. I was glad not to have brought my kit and been sucked off into the normal swing of the club. Seeing everything through their fresh eyes reminded me about how incredible archery is and what I love about it. It reminded me how fun it is, how exciting new bows are, how enjoyable it was learning all the terms and techniques and equipment, how much enjoyment can be got from just flinging arrows.

One newcomer paid for their entry onto the course tonight. All round, the experience was positive and good for the club. I was glad to have been there to help.

I think I’d been taking things too seriously, probably because I shoot with folks who’ve been shooting for 7+ years and feel the need to ‘catch up’. Also, it doesn’t help having a work colleague who professes to be exceptionally good (but has yet to prove it while I’m around). I’m not much fond of non-evidenced one-up-manship!

Anyway, the other positive outcomes of the night were that I ordered a hoodie for the private venue that I’ve been shooting at, which will have my nickname “Spag Bol” on it, and booked into their field shoot for Sunday, which will hopefully get me back into the swing of things.

Leave a Reply

